"The CAYS Foundation is a not-for-profit organisation dedicated to empowering youth and their families, who are experiencing difficulties achieving their full human potential..."

the cayman model

The Level System

The Level system is essentially an application where the goal is developing personal responsibility for social, emotional, and academic performance.
A student’s progresses through various levels of the system, the speed depends on changes in the student’s measurable behavior and achievement. As the student progresses through the levels, the behavioral expectations and privileges provided for acceptable behavior are changed or elevated toward goals and self-management.

Level 1– The Learning Phase

Goal: Youth will begin to acquire knowledge about their surroundings.


  1. Become familiar with your surroundings
  2. Become familiar with the group and staff
  3. Maintain a Safe and Secure environment at all times
  4. Attend all group sessions
  5. Follow all staff directions (consistently)
  6. Become familiar with your handbook
  7. Become familiar with the Rights and Responsibilities Of being a group member
  8. Begin to learn appropriate ways to communicate

Level 2– The Self-Awareness/Discovery Phase

Goal: Youth begin to explore a balanced and honest view of their own personality and ability to interact frankly and confidently with others.


  1. Get acquainted with your advocate
  2. Gain knowledge about the expectations and importance of Group Meetings
  3. Work with your Advocate to complete your Collage, Genogram, Critical  Events list and Lifeline.
  4. Work with your Advocate and learn how to use I messages in  communication
  5. Work with your Advocate to understand personal and physical boundaries
  6. Work with your Advocate to understand the difference between thoughts  and feelings
  7. Learn positive and proper behavior in school
  8. Meet with your Advocate, Treatment Team and Family for orientation and review  of the program

Level 3 – The Self Exploration Phase

Goal: Youth should be showing careful consideration to -decision making, to work on your Care Plan and to the group process.


  1. Use the information  learned about yourself to complete a Collage, Genogram, Critical Events List, Lifeline, Cycle of Abuse.
  2. Begin to recognize and understand Core Issues.
  3. Begin to recognize and understand destructive patterns of behavior and coping skills.
  4. Begin to recognize and understand your family roles and the role you play within your family.
  5. Recognize family interactions.
  6. Begin to discuss your coping skills, your role, the family role and your  interactions with the group and your Advocate.
  7. Participate in school and any other special programs, Counseling,  tutorial or any other program applicable to your treatment.

Level 4 – The Growing Phase

Goal: Demonstrate responsible and reliable behaviour, and because of your  truthfulness, group members and staff can depend on you.


  1. Sharing information with the group
  2. Identify typical situations and /or moods that lead to loss of self-control.
  3. Identify physical cues and triggers that are warning signals.
  4. Identify ways to ask for help prior to displaying acting out behaviours.
  5. Identify ways within the group that you can discuss Core Issues and ask for help,  receive help and give help to your other group members.
  6. Make initial plan to de-escalate once loss of control is noticed by you, the group and staff.
  7. Share with family areas you are working on.
  8. Share with parents your progress or lack of progress thereof.
  9. Talk honestly with your group, Advocate, Social Worker and Staff.
  10. Begin to take personal responsibility for yourself.
  11. Practice new positive actions that demonstrate increased awareness  of self, family and your surrounds.
  12. Continue to demonstrate positive behaviour in school.
  13. Meet with Advocate, Social Worker and Assistant Manager to discuss progress/or concerns.

Level 5 – The Collective Work and Responsibility Phase

Goal: Process of undergoing change and passing from one stage, form, or activity to another.


  1. Actively lead and teach others.
  2. Support others in their efforts to grow and search for alternative ways to deal with their feelings.
  3. Present to your group members, Advocate, Family, Social Worker and  Assistant Manager what has been successful interrupting your negative cycles or patterns.
  4. Discuss with your parents/family members potential high risk situations  in your home, school and community where you may be vulnerable to lose control.
  5. Develop Relapse Prevention Plan.
  6. Meet with Advocate, Staff, Social Worker and Assistant Manager to discuss progress and/or control.

Level 6 – The Transition Phase


  1. Finalize placement according to Care Plan.
  2. Develop external and internal strategies for monitoring the plan.
  3. Develop aftercare plan with Advocate, Social Worker and Assistant Manager.
  4. Continue to actively lead and teach other group members.